Digital Coloring – Miss-placed

I colored.

*I did in no way draw the lineart shown below, nor did I ink it. I just added colors to the image, that’s all*

Miss-placed Colors

This isn’t just any color. This is probably one of the biggest I’ve done. There’s soooo many layers that went into this, as well as time and effort. I was really scared to take on the challenge. I got this lineart from Miserie from DeviantArt.  The original lineart is called Miss-placed.  Originally it’s of the character Stormer from Jem. I had not one idea about Jem, but I liked the character’s look. She’s flamboyantly colored and I loved her blue hair. I tried to keep true to what she looked like, but added my own flare. I decided to make her a total diva. Which has it’s own bad girl image. I refrained from the facial markings, that I am assuming makes her Stormer, because it didn’t go with what I was trying to color.

When it comes to coloring, I try to always go with bright and a little soft in colors. I’m not sure on my style, yet, but it can be summed to that. I want to go a bit realistic in terms of quality. I hope that practice will get me there. For this, I’m most proud of the see-through veil in the back, the shoes, plant in her hair, and texture of the clothes. I’m not that proud of the background, arm band, and jewelry. I’m most disappointed with the background. I usually do a nice background. Here…I had no idea what to do with it. And I tried. I just could not come up with anything. It’s just too busy. I tried to blur it, but I still don’t like it.

I learned quite a bit about myself through working on this. One, I love coloring! Two, I need to get some confidence in myself when I color because if I don’t I will never move forward and be where I want. Three, I’m really terrified of using hard shadows. I did have them in this work. I just deleted that entire layer because I think it looked awful.  I was too chicken to leave it in. Four, I have to take my time on hair. Hair…omg hair…is rough. It’ll forever be something I need to continually work on.

I just have to push on. I’ll get better as long as I keep practicing. I can’t get discouraged. If I didn’t push myself to finish this properly, I probably never would have finished it. And it’s kind of scary to go pass your comfort barrier.

It’s a strange and magical place to step foot into.

Have a great week guys.

-waffu-

Leave a Reply

