Cross Stitching: AF4 WIP 3

Hi guys!

It’s now November and I’ve been having a great stitching week. I’ve worked on AF4 and finished 1 page, finally. Here’s the result.

Asian Fantasy 4 WIP 6 (110114)

What I should have done, when I took this picture, was place some sort of visual reference by it, like a dime. Then, you could generate how small those stitches actually are. I was showing it to someone and they couldn’t understand how all that work was only 1 page, but the space is so small. The tip of my long nail takes up about 10 stitches. Altogether, this one page is about 4,774 stitches. Also, there’s about 35 colors used. All on this 1 page. How amazing is that?

And it’s becoming so beautiful. You can start to see the flow of the fabric on the character. It warms my heart. That…might be a bad thing. I’m enamored with AF4 right now. I don’t want to switch back to KL. And I’m not going to switch back. She’s just too enticing. Don’t get me wrong, I’m going to work on KL later this month. I have plans to finish her before Christmas and I will. She’s just going to have to wait a little bit. I give myself two more weeks, at least, to play with AF4 until I have to fully concentrate on KL.

It’s fun stuff!

Now, I’m not sure which direction I want to go in – there’s 72 pages and this is page 36 – and I have four places to choose. I think I’ll start on the left-hand side though. With this next page I’m going to try a different stitch technique called “Parking”. For those of you who have no idea what that is, read about it here: Parking. If you’re more into the actual visual try this one: Parking Tut.

For me, I always saw stitching projects that had the thread pulled out and wondered what it was called. Seriously! Finding out what it was called was like trying to find Waldo. A best kept secret, even. Only the privileged knew and they weren’t sharing haha. But, I found it.

The reason Parking made me curious? It was simply gorgeous to see all that thread flowing. There’s something magically artistic about it. Then when I found out the name, I was fascinated on the technique. Ever since, I’ve been dying to try it. So, I will on this next page. I’ll let you all know how it goes.

Has anyone tried, or used, the Parking technique?

Happy Stitching!

-waffu-

2 thoughts on “Cross Stitching: AF4 WIP 3

  1. Yay on your page finish! It’s so ecxiting, the very first page on your very first HAED! She looks lovely so far, and will continue to look awesome, I’m sure of that ^_^

    As for parking, I haven’t tried it yet and I’m not sure it will…it makes the backside of the stitching a total mess, and I can’t really stand that. On the other hand, while being messy, I’ve heard it’s also less lumpy then cross country stitching (that’s the ‘normal’ thing we do, picking one color, stitch till you can’t use it anymore), which might be better for framing…still, don’ think I’d like it.

    • I was super terrified that my back would look messy. That’s my number one fear when I started it. I’m like you, I can’t stand my back being messy! But, it’s actually not. On the contrary, its cleaner. I’m currently working one column and it looks better than my cross country stitching, which is the norm of course hahaha. Since I plan to do one whole page, judgement will have to wait.

Leave a Reply

