Stuff Passed Down

Wow, I had quite the weekend. My birthday was yesterday, Sunday, and I finished another page of AF4 and have 800 more stitches left. Well…1 more page left going up, 800 just sounds more exciting (^_^).

Here’s my AF4 update.

Asian Fantasy 4 WIP 9.2 (072615)

I’ll finish with the last page this week. The previous page flew by. I’ve been paranoid about missing stitches. I count and recount…and recount…and recount…and recount…and recount as I’ve been stitching upwards. When I finally finish this last page I’m going to count a couple of times just to make sure I didn’t skip a line. I don’t think I did though, seeing as I’ve recounted so much I’m sure I know each row by heart! It’s crazy that I haven’t messed up yet. Oops, hope that isn’t a jinx *derp*. Now, onto something that really touched my heart. I received this little card from my mother.

Happy Birthday Card w Ring

At first, it was so small I just thought it was a card, but to my surprise this was inside.

Mother's Engagement Ring for Bday

For those who can’t read it, it says:

“Your father gave this to me in 1985. I give it to you now with all the love that we felt and much, much more!”

It’s the engagement ring that my father gave to my mother when he proposed. The story, that she told me, goes that my father had given this to my mother and my father planned to later get a bigger one. My mother was so happy to get it that even if it wasn’t the biggest thing in the world she wore it proudly! My parents are divorced, and have been since I was about 7 years old. I grew up with my mother, but my father has always been with me. He’s been such a wonderful influence in my life even if he’s hundreds of miles away.

I love my dad. (^_^).

Now, I have this ring passed down to me. I’m even wearing it now because it feels like good luck. I’m a sucker for sentimental things. I cried like a baby when I got it and now I don’t want to part with it. The positive energy from it…the fact that I have a memento that’s a part of my parents history…is the best gift I could ever receive.

I’m going to definitely cherish it. If only it didn’t make me cry happily every time I looked at it (^_^).

I hope you all have a wonderful week!

-waffu-

9 thoughts on “Stuff Passed Down

  1. Happy birthday! That is such an amazing gift. I don’t have a lot of things that came to me through my mom, and I treasure the ones I do have.

    • I didn’t have anything from either of my parents until now. I tell you, the feeling you get from having it…you have to treasure it.

  2. Happy birthday! You made great progress stitching, and that ring is really lovely, as is it’s story. I completely understand how important it must be for you, my parents split up when I was two and I don’t really have anything to remember ‘them’ by (though I still have contact with both of them)

    • Thank you for the happy birthday! I’m going to forever treasure my gift. It really meant a heck of a lot (^_^).

Leave a Reply

