Ce-le-brate Good Times, Come On!

It’s Monday guys and I’m just worn out. I completed my task of doing five 3D swans and I did finish at the very last minute. Didn’t I tell you that was going to happen? The glue was even still drying when I gave them to my commissioners. Don’t worry, it was still professional. I let them know that they needed to give it a minute  before fooling around with them. They were ecstatic with the results!  I think I even surprised them with the results. Did I mention that I got paid for this too? Yes, I got paid and that was a plus all on its own.

This experience relived a couple of issues for me. I use to be very apprehensive about doing something I love, my hobbies, and do it for profit. The concept was awkward and strange. I currently do, do some digital coloring flat work for an artist friend of mine. I use to do it for fun and not get paid, but that had to change when she convinced me she had to pay me for it.  I awkwardly accepted and didn’t get use to it until I did it a couple of times. Now, I’m fine with the exchange with her. Still…with other people I wondered if it would be strange. When I started this commission it was. Once I received the money it didn’t feel that bizarre at all. There was even some satisfaction about it. I guess it takes a couple of times of something new until you get use to it.

Would I do something like this again? You know, do a hobby for money? I would. The thought is less strange and foreign. I might still have a little guilt to it, I’m sure I’ll get over it quicker now, but now I won’t have this feeling that I got paid for something I love doing. When I reread that, it doesn’t make much sense. Does it?

What do you guys think?

With the commission done, I’m free to finish my mother’s swan and do some stitching! I really miss my stitching. I plan to do some after work today. Hope I haven’t forgotten how to haha. I’m also doing some blog work. I’m going to add a couple of my hobbies to the menu along with the cross stitching.

Stitch away!

-waffu-

 

3 thoughts on “Ce-le-brate Good Times, Come On!

  1. I think it’s fabulous that you got paid for something you love to make. Your are an artist and deserve to be compensated!

  2. Isn’t that the dream for most of us? Getting paid for doing what we love? I guess I’d be reluctant to, because I don’t want what I love to become a chore, but since it’s not your main job and just a little side business – awesome!

Leave a Reply

