Needle Experimentation

I briefly had a multiple love affair with some needles. It started with a little experimentation, ever since I’ve been using Kreinik I don’t re-thread it and just leave it in the needle since it’s hard to re-thread, and now I wonder if I can use the technique in an efficient manner.

Here’s a little bit of what I’m talking about.

Needle Play

I’m trying to use more than one needle while I’m stitching. This isn’t a new technique. Not to me, that is. I’ve seen people online use multiple needles while Parking. They won’t re-thread a needle, which I do haha, but instead keep a needle per thread. It’s a fantastic idea, but I thought I couldn’t manage more than one needle. Also, the image of needles just hanging sounded like mass chaos. I do not need that.

Or so I thought.

I found out I can use up to six needles before it all becomes a mess. Instead of letting the needles hang I kind of stick them in the fabric, as seen above. My pro so far is that it’s kind of fun…the chaos. The con is…the chaos. Haha. Keeping up with the needles and threads can be a mess and I did find myself being slow due to the fact I kept having to untangle. I haven’t timed myself yet. I don’t know if using multiple needles makes me faster. I think I have to work my own kinks out first to see if it’s for me or not.

Either way, I’ll make sure to keep you all up with the needle experimentation.

Oh! Before I go.

Asian Fantasy 4 WIP 10.2 (092015)

You didn’t think I would forget to post an update on AF4 did yeah? I’m not so cruel (^_^). Another column down. I have two more to go and then I’ll be done the entire page.

Let me add this…some exciting stuff is going on IRL. I’ll discuss it with you guys next time, but it’s all good stuff. Promise (^_^)

Have a great week guys!

-waffu-

5 thoughts on “Needle Experimentation

  1. I’m interested to see how this works for you. That’s kind of how I feel about confetti. I love it because it’s not boring I hate it because I have to keep looking at the chart lol. Looks great!

    • Yes, the love-hate stitching drama. I’m going to state, with honesty, that I love the stitch drama. I kind of seek it out (^_^). Shhh it’s a secret.

  2. I’m parking my obscenely large piece at the moment, it’s working well! I don’t use the multineedle method though, because the first time I tried it I nearly bled all over my canvas.

    • Love, love, love parking. Don’t know what I’d do without it on my big stitch. How in the world did you almost bleed all over your canvas? I didn’t have the thought of being poked. Now I’ve got it in my thoughts. Darn you!

  3. When I started with Dark Force, I used multiple needles much the same way you do now. I think I got to 8-10 before chaos brake loose. It was okay, but now I just finish all of one colour in the column and finish the thread and move on, which seems to work better for me 🙂

Leave a Reply

